Economist Innovation Award Winners

The 2004 Winners are:

Bioscience: David Goeddel, chief executive of Tularik, for gene cloning and the expression of human proteins.

Communications: Vic Hayes, former chair of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 working group, for the development and standardisation of Wi-Fi wireless networks.

Computing: Linus Torvalds, Open Source Development Labs fellow, for the development of the Linux operating system.

Energy: Takeshi Uchiyamada, senior managing director, Toyota, for developing the Prius hybrid car.

No boundaries: Gerd Binnig, Heinrich Rohrer and Christoph Gerber, researchers at IBM’s Zurich Research Laboratory, for the development of the scanning-tunnelling microscope (STM).

Social and economic innovation: Muhammad Yunus, founder, Grameen Bank, for the development of microcredit.

Published by

Rajesh Jain

An Entrepreneur based in Mumbai, India.